Division-M Community
browngeek

Drive Bender and Plex problems

I have been using Drive Bender for about the past 18 months, generally without problem.  I am using it to pool my drives for my media files.

I had previously used Drive Bender on an HP Proliant N40L using Windows 7.  The main use for the computer was for Plex Media Server and Plex Media Center (computer was connected to my TV).  I had one 3.5inch 250GB drive as the OS driver (where Drive Bender was installed) and two media HDDs (one 1TB WD Green and one 2TB Seagate Barracuda).  The two media HDDs formed one pool in Drive Bender.  Everything was running fine with this set up.

I recently upgraded to an HP Proliant N54L and transferred all my hard drives (and Drive Bender) licence to this new machine.  However, instead of using the 250GB drive as my OS I installed a 60GB SSD as my OS drive, with the 250GB drive as my data drive (neither of these drives are part of the Drive Bender pool).  The SSD is where Drive Bender is installed, but my Plex Media Server cache sits in the 250GB drive.  The OS drive is connected via the computer’s esata port.

The above seemed to work, apart from one issue.

Pretty much every time I play something on Plex, the video stops and I have to restart it.  I have also tried this on VLC and I have the same issue.  When I move the same media to my 250GB drive or my ssd and play it through both Plex and VLC, it seems to play fine.  I have also recently installed another media drive (3TB WD Red) but not added it to the Drive Bender pool and all media seems to play fine.  I have run diagnostic checks on all my hard drives (both through Drive Bender and through other free software available on the internet) and everything seems to be healthy.  I have also reached out to Plex (by providing error logs etc) and they have looked into, saying that it doesn’t seem to be a Plex issue.