Division-M Community
edo

Restricting pool access to authorized users

hello folks,  I am new to DB so please be patient with me. I have some permissions issue that I can't resolve.   Here is my setup:

• I am running a windows 10 PC which doubles as (1) the home theater computer and (2) as a backup server for all family / work files.
  • The pool consists of two 6T drives running from an external enclosure connected via a USB 3.1 port. No RAID configs. The pool is mapped to the letter P: (I know, I am not being too original here...) 
  • The PC has two accounts:
  1. The HTPC account is limited used by everyone in the family to watch movies, etc. It  is logged in automatically at startup, requires no password and has a disabled UAC.  The media files are stored under P:/MEDIA
  2. The Admin account used to configure the backup program which runs a service in the background. The backup files are stored under P:/BACKUP

The idea is to make the HTCP account only see the MEDIA files and not the BACKUP files.

Now, here is what I did:  when logged from the admin account I navigated to  P:/BACKUP folder and used properties/sharing/advanced sharing to set the permissions allowing read and write access to  the admin user only.  In contrast I allowed the HTPC user to access P:/MEDIA files.

I then logged into the HTCP account and mapped the MEDIA folder to letter M:/  so all my media files became accessible from M:/MEDIA  so far so good - this is what I thought.... But here is the problem:  the entire pooled drive P:/ remains visible from the HTCP account including full access to the BACKUP files. I am unable to remove the mount point P because it then also removes the mount point M.  The sharing on the P drive doesn't seem to work at all.

What I am missing and how to restrict the HTCP account from seeing the BACKUP files?

Thanks and sorry for somewhat detailed posting

Ed

Welcome edo.